Department S

Sinner's Day Winter
29 october 2022



Department S are a post punk/New wave band that formed in 1980 , they scored two top 40 hits with their first two single releases. Their first single, “Is Vic There?”, was released in December 1980. Produced  by Mott the Hoople members Buffin and Overend Watts, it was a hit across the UK and Europe.

A  follow-up single “Going Left Right”, was released on the Stiff Records label and gave the band their second top 40 hit single .Whilst the third single “I Want” didn’t sell as well in the UK it was a hit in many European markets. Differences of opinion with their record label, resulted in the band splitting from Stiff Records but not before £50,000 was reputedly spent on what was to be their debut album, unfortunately the band split shortly after.

Original keyboard player Eddie Roxy went on to form the band Dream Sequence and had a hit in Europe with the single Outside looking in.

Department S reformed in 2006 with original members Herbage, Mizon, Taylor and Roxy. Eddie Roxy taking over the role of vocalist as Vaughn Toulouse had died in 1991.

Their 2010 single “Wonderful Day” featured on a TV commercial and had guest appearances from Marco Perroni and Glen Matlock.

September 2016 saw Department S release the 3rd Department S album “When all is said and all is done” along with a single of the same name , both album and single received rave reviews. October 2017 saw the release of another long player “45 Revolutions” (Singles 1980-2017).

The current line up features original member , Eddie Roxy , bass guitarist Mike Lea, guitarist Phil Thompson (who also plays for The Rezillos ) and Simon Bowley ( Eddie and the Hotrods) on drums.

Live shows across Europe and UK pairing Department S with Ian Hunter (Mott the Hoople), The Mission, Eddie & the Hot Rods, Ruts DC and The Mission to name a few proved that Department S are much more than a name from the 1980’s, they are one of the finest bands around.

Want to know more?